New model for Flux and things

Sun Dec 17, 2006 4:50 pm PostPost subject: New model for Flux and things
GregL
Contributor
Contributor

As a practical programmer, I can solve equations by simulation/calculation, as my maths is not PhD standard. What I would like is to be able to model what we know already, and using the model try and extrapolate some new variations. We can then use those results to make a better model - maybe the equations will jump out at us.

The best we can do at this stage is to try and simulate what happens in Steorn's test rig. They have given us the data in the spreadsheet, but we need to know what magnets and where.

Any clues?

Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:16 pm PostPost subject:
Splonk
Contributor
Contributor

I too am a programmer. At this point I'm more interested in replicating the effect than simulating it.

Basically, I don't think that Steorn is trying to fool us (gut instinct), but, I'm still not willing to spend the time trying to simulate the effect until after I've seen it work. A video is not going to be enough for me either. I need to build/disassemble a working demo, so I know there is no possibility that I've been duped.

At that point I would like to work on modeling the effect computationally -- partly to convince myself that I haven't fooled myself.

Perhaps it would be worthwhile trying to start up a sourceforge project at that time?

Mon Dec 18, 2006 8:47 pm PostPost subject:
avid_engineer
Regular Contributor
Regular Contributor

I have done a fair amount of coding in my time, and also considered the possibility of reversing or brute forcing test results in order to better guess the setup. Unfortunately, while i can see how the test results could provide an interesting angle of investigation my standard of math is not really up to that kind of analysis.